Hexagonal Thinking #SOL2022 28/31

We’ve been reading infographics and they’ve been making posters noticing the methods of organization, the ways that they communicate, and I moved them from the large lined paper to small laminated hexagons.

“Rethink this again, but now reduce it down to words and show relationships with hexagons.”

I thought this would take some time, but was amazed at the speed and focus with which they worked. There was 6 minutes left in class. Each group of students stood, talked, huddled over the shapes, moving them around, debating the location, and then proudly asking me to take a picture.

Six sided six minute thinking geniuses.

6 thoughts on “Hexagonal Thinking #SOL2022 28/31

  1. This reminds me of Amanda’s post about moving the manipulatives around to help a student visualize some editing moves that could make her essay flow better. She read it earlier this month you probably remember. Anyway I love these hexagons and I especially love that they are not digital because it really would let students move their thoughts around in a different way than digital could. Hexagons don’t get enough credit in this world. I love the hexagons!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment