The Tattoo 3/31#SOL

The grade 12 students trickled into class, some before the bell, others after; it’s Friday, afterall. I moved about the clusters of desks having brief conversations, talking book choices, asking about sports, or other aspects of life which sometimes float in and around conversations as we gather. Small groups talked, some looked my way, I joined with words, and then separated, they joined with more words, and then focused on something else bringing warmth to the space in murmurations of conversation.

I noticed his tattoo. It looked freshly enscribed on the inside of his left arm descending towards his wrist, dark Roman numbers in Times New Roman on pale youthful skin.

“Your tattoo is so interesting. Can I ask what it means?”

“I just got it for my birthday. It’s still bumpy.” he said smiling and running his fingers delicately along the black letters. “I got it for my birthday. It’s not my birthdate. It’s the date that my parents adopted me. They let me get it for my birthday. I mean, they were reluctant for a long time and I was surprized when they finally said yes, but I love it.”

My mind and heart swelled with the smile on his face clearly demonstrating love for his adoptive family. “That’s incredible.” I paused in admiration holding my gaze on the tattoo. “I love it too, and I think you have a story idea for your memoir here. I mean, why did you choose that font? You’ve inked your skin with significance and chosen words which represent numbers, and that might be useful for a larger metaphor…”.

My enthusiasm for my own ideas had gotten the better of me in that moment, so I stopped and waited for him to talk.

“Wow. Ya. I hadn’t thought of that.” He snort-laughed and then opened his Chromebook. “I’m going to write some of that down. I like that idea.”

8 thoughts on “The Tattoo 3/31#SOL

  1. Melanie, I’m not a tattoo person, but I love this kid’s ink and yours, too. Way to notice your student and teach at the same time. I think you said exactly the right thing to affirm him and inspire his writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing this! As an adopted person myself, I often think that what ties me to my (adoptive) family is ink and paper rather than blood or DNA). Of course, this is aside from the love and care families share in the most ideal situations. However, more to the point of this post, your student put some real ink out there as proof of his ties. A visible metaphor that stands boldly in the place of all of those “resemblance” or “looks just like” conversations.

    Like

  3. As a tattoo person, I can appreciate both! I love the moment you captured with this student. It is a gift to be able to show them that they do have stories to share with the world!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this story! I always ALWAYS think people will regret tattoos, but this one has so much significance that I somehow think he won’t regret it. I love that you used it to connect him to his writing and his big picture story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment