To Sleep 18/31 #SOL2023

“Perchance to dream…”

I didn’t sleep well last night. Around 1am, our bedroom door swung open and startled me out of my dream. I don’t remember the dream now, but it was unsettling and this spilled over into my wakeful tossing which faciliatated some anxious weaving of stories which kept me awake for a few hours.

“Just stop”, I finally told myself, and then decided to soften the accusations and practice some relaxation and meditation.

At 1pm, my husband and I moved the ottoman, laid out the yoga mats and began our weekend workout. Part way through our two minute plank, I glanced over at the sofa, perpendicular to my straining body, and noticed that the dog was already breathing heavily, his paws dangling off the edge of the sofa twitching slightly.

Damn, I thought. If only I could plop down anywhere and be asleep within a minute.

I think my dog might just be a reincarnation of some spirit guide meant to show me how to live. He’s always excited to see everyone, no matter who they might be, or what they might have done; everyone is a potential friend. He eats when he is hungry, sleeps when he is tired, and dreams of repeating the same walk everyday with a bounce in his step and a wag of his tail.

4 thoughts on “To Sleep 18/31 #SOL2023

  1. Amanda beat me! I was going to say “Wow! 2 minute plank!” and “nap goals” to be asleep that fast. I admit, today was the first day the entire break I had a nap (but I am not feeling the greatest, I have a cold), so it was easy to rest my eyes.
    I love the contrast between you not being able to sleep, and your pup right off into happy dreaming walks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment